Synotes FAQ

Before following the advice on this page, make sure you’re running the latest version of Synotes on your device. 

  • What is a 'Synote'?
  • A Synote is a text note, complete with formatting and an assigned icon, that is created and stored within the Synotes app and can be shared across all of your devices.
  • How do I create a Synote?
  • Tap on the New button and you will be presented with a blank note page. Simply tap the Tap to set title text and start typing your title. Now tap on the note and starting typing your note text. Tap Save when you have finished or tap Cancel if you have changed your mind and want to delete the note.
  • What is my Syncode ID?
  • Your Syncode ID is the email address and password that you registered with us. Your Syncode ID lets you access all of your information with one handy login, in any Syncode application, on any supported device.
  • Can I create a second account?
  • Yes. You can create as many accounts as you wish, as long as each account has a unique, valid email address.
  • Can I transfer notes between different accounts?
  • We’re afraid not. Look out for an update that includes this feature in the future.
  • Can I change the email address and password I use with Synotes?
  • Yes, easily. Tap the Settings button and then tap the Account button. In the Account view, tap the Change Details button. From here you can enter a new email address and password. When you tap the Apply button, you will be sent a confirmation email with a verification code. Enter the code into the Verify Email view and your details will be updated.
  • How do I delete my account?
  • Seriously?! If, for some reason, you do want to do this, tap the Settings button and then tap the Account button. From the Account view tap on the Delete Account button. At this stage, you will be asked for feedback as to why you want to delete your account. We’ll be sad to see you go and hope your feedback will allow us to make Synotes even better.
    Enter your password and then tap the Delete Account button. This will delete ALL your stored notes and your account.
  • Can I recover my account after I have deleted it?
  • No, when an account is deleted, all the notes assigned to that account are permanently deleted. Think carefully before you push that button.
  • Why can’t I see my notes when I log out of Synotes and want to access my notes without an internet connection.
  • Synotes requires you to be logged in with a Syncode account, because all of your notes are held on our own servers. This enables you to sign into a second account or sign into your own account on someone else's device, securely. If you do not log out of Synotes, you can still access your notes offline, but your changes will not be synchronised with the server until a connection to the Internet is established.
  • What does the ‘Viewing Password’ function do?
  • To access Viewing Password, tap the Settings button. In the Settings view, tap the Viewing Password button. The View Password feature allows you to further secure your notes by prompting you to enter your password each time you view a note or attempt to edit one.
  • Can I add photos to my notes?
  • Not yet, but that feature is coming. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but soon...
  • How do I remove a text style from my note?
  • Select the styled text and tap which style you want to remove
  • Why can I still see a grey and faded note that I have already deleted?
  • This is because Synotes offers you the facility to recover any note you have previously deleted. Tapping the Edit button will display all current notes as well as any previous deleted notes.
  • Can I recover a deleted note?
  • Yes, all notes are recoverable for up to 30 days. Tap the Edit button, select the deleted note and then tap the Recover button. Your note will be recovered and made available for further editing.
  • How do people see my shared notes?
  • Your shared note is viewed by others in a browser window on their device, styled using the beautiful bound leather look of the Synotes app. Viewers can only view your notes, not edit them, and longer notes can be scrolled within the browser window.
  • Can I store different notes on my individual devices?
  • Once notes are synchronised with the server, they will appear on all of your devices.
  • How much time do I have before a re- coverable note is permanently deleted?
  • 30 days.
  • What is Auto Sync?
  • Auto Sync keeps your notes up-to-date in the cloud whenever you make changes. You can turn this feature off to save bandwidth. When Auto Sync is turned off, notes will be synchronised when you tap Reload on the main screen.
  • What does synchronisation of notes mean?
  • Synotes can be used on multiple devices, so keeping your notes in sync across all of them is important so you don't lose data. It also provides a backup functionality, meaning your notes will always be available.
  • What is the Cloud?
  • In computing, the cloud is a name given to a collection of servers, running on the Internet that store your data for access on any device.
  • Can the people I share notes with forward the note to other people?
  • As the note is shown in a web browser, anyone is free to copy the contents into other applications.
  • Can the shared note be seen on any type of device or browser?
  • Yes, a shared note can be viewed via a browser on any smartphone, tablet or desktop computer.
  • How do I retract a shared note on Facebook and Twitter?
  • If you change a note’s settings from public to private, it will no longer be visible via the unique URL assigned to it. The same is true if you delete your note.